UNESCO-UNEVOC Logo open menu

About Us

The UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre: Who We Are | What We Do | Working With Us | Get in Touch

Our Network

The UNEVOC Network: Learn About the Network | UNEVOC Network Directory
For Members: UNEVOC Centre Dashboard

Skills for Work and Life

Thematic Areas: Inclusion and Youth | Digital Transformation | Private Sector Engagement | SDGs and Greening TVET
Our Key Programmes & Projects: BILT: Bridging Innovation and Learning in TVET | Building TVET resilience | TVET Leadership Programme | WYSD: World Youth Skills Day
Past Activities: COVID-19 response | i-hubs project | TVET Global Forums | Virtual Conferences | YEM Knowledge Portal

Knowledge Resources

Our Services & Resources: Publications | TVET Forum | TVET Country Profiles | TVETipedia Glossary | Innovative and Promising Practices | Toolkits for TVET Providers | Entrepreneurial Learning Guide
Events: Major TVET Events | UNEVOC Network News

Digital competence frameworks for teachers, learners and citizens

These pages are dedicated to defining and discussing the digital knowledge, skills and attitudes viewed as inherent to being digitally 'competent'. There are two main components to this work:

1) a database of digital competence frameworks. This database provides a global reference point for information on how digital competencies are being defined for citizens, learners and educators through the use of competence frameworks. The content is relevant to all types of UNEVOC Network members (national and international policy-makers, researchers and practitioners).

2) links to articles and think-pieces discussing the many implications of changing digital skills needs on TVET provision:

2 webinars were held on the topic:

The database will be expanded to include digital strategies developed at continental, national and regional level, and occupational digital competence frameworks. Please check back regularly!

back to list

Digital Teaching Professional Framework

The aim of this framework is to enable TVET providers and their teachers and trainers working in the Further Education sector (which includes TVET) to identify the training needs to help develop their teaching and training practice. The framework has bite-sized training courses mapped to it which can be pursued online and are certified with the award of a digital badge.


ORIGIN: England, United Kingdom 2019

PUBLISHER: Education and Training Foundation, England, United Kingdom

BACKGROUND: The framework has been developed by the Education and Training Foundation (ETF). The ETF is the workforce development body for teachers and trainers in the TVET sector in the UK, funded by the Department of Education. It includes a focus on supporting learning to develop employability skills, as well as subjects and industry-specific training.


The Digital Teaching Professional Framework sets out three competency levels, adapted from the European Union's DigCompEdu Framework as follows:

- Stage 1: Exploring – practitioners assimilate new information and develop basic digital practices;

- Stage 2: Adopting – practitioners apply their digital practices and expand them further;

- Stage 3: Leading – practitioners pass on their knowledge, critique existing practice and develop new practices.

The content of the framework is divided into seven sections:

1) Planning your teaching - using digital technology to help you plan for better teaching and learning

2) Approaches to teaching - using resources to engage learners in face-to-face, blended and online learning (further disaggregated into four activities)

3) Supporting learners to develop employability skills - using digital technologies to improve employment prospects for your learners

4) Subject and industry specific teaching - organising your CPD (continuous professional development) to develop your subject knowledge and business and industry awareness.

5) Assessment - using digital technologies to improve assessment and give better feedback

6) Accessibility and inclusion - ensuring that all learners can make full use of digital technology

7) Self-development - reflecting on professional practice, developing CPD strategies and promoting safe and comfortable digital identity

Each competence area is disaggregated into activity areas with examples at each of the 3 competence levels. There are 20 categories of activities associated with the 7 sections. In each activity category there are up to 10 specific activities. This is a detailed framework where the 7 sections are mapped clearly onto the competency levels to make it clear what competencies are required in order to reach each level.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: The framework is available in a long version, a short version, a poster and an infographic. The full, long version of the framework is designed to be used mainly by leaders, managers and HR professionals. It will provide a foundation for professional development plans, so could be used as part of a staff development approach and strategically as part of a digital skills strategy. It has been accompanied from January 2019 by free, online, bite-size training modules with certification.

TARGET GROUP(S): Teachers/trainers; Curriculum Developers

back to list



Data privacy notice | Contacts | © UNESCO-UNEVOC