UNESCO-UNEVOC Logo open menu

About Us

The UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre: Who We Are | What We Do | Working With Us | Get in Touch

Our Network

The UNEVOC Network: Learn About the Network | UNEVOC Network Directory
For Members: UNEVOC Centre Dashboard

Skills for Work and Life

Thematic Areas: Inclusion and Youth | Digital Transformation | Private Sector Engagement | SDGs and Greening TVET
Our Key Programmes & Projects: BILT: Bridging Innovation and Learning in TVET | Building TVET resilience | TVET Leadership Programme | WYSD: World Youth Skills Day
Past Activities: COVID-19 response | i-hubs project | TVET Global Forums | Virtual Conferences | YEM Knowledge Portal

Knowledge Resources

Our Services & Resources: Publications | TVET Forum | TVET Country Profiles | TVETipedia Glossary | Innovative and Promising Practices | Toolkits for TVET Providers | Entrepreneurial Learning Guide
Events: Major TVET Events | UNEVOC Network News

Digital competence frameworks for teachers, learners and citizens

These pages are dedicated to defining and discussing the digital knowledge, skills and attitudes viewed as inherent to being digitally 'competent'. There are two main components to this work:

1) a database of digital competence frameworks. This database provides a global reference point for information on how digital competencies are being defined for citizens, learners and educators through the use of competence frameworks. The content is relevant to all types of UNEVOC Network members (national and international policy-makers, researchers and practitioners).

2) links to articles and think-pieces discussing the many implications of changing digital skills needs on TVET provision:

2 webinars were held on the topic:

The database will be expanded to include digital strategies developed at continental, national and regional level, and occupational digital competence frameworks. Please check back regularly!

back to list

Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA - 8)

The Skill Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) defines the skills and competencies required by professionals who design, implement, manage and protect the data and technology that power the digital world. The framework is created and managed by the SFIA Foundation which is a global not-for-profit organisation which oversees the production and use of Framework.



PUBLISHER: SFIA Foundation, 2000

BACKGROUND: SFIA is developed through a collaborative process with corporate, public sector and educational environments from all around the world. This has resulted in its adoption by governments, corporates and individuals in almost 200 countries. The framework has been through successive updates based on expert inputs to define the essential digital skills and competencies required in a range of sectors - including for digital professionals working in learning and education.


The Skills Framework for the Information Age is targeted at digital professionals working in a range of sectors. Specifically for 'learning and development professionals' the framework is expected to support:

- defining required competency and skills profiles

- creating learning catalogues, blended learning solutions, curriculum and mixing formal and on the job learning.

The framework also targets education providers, training providers and curriculum designers to support them in:

- aligning curriculum to industry/employer needs and improving employability

- mapping curriculum to skills and knowledge attainment

- supporting developmental and evaluative skills assessment

The framework contains six skills categories which are further broken down into 19 sub-categories. To give an example, one category is people and skills which has two sub-categories (people management and skills management). Skills which fall under these sub-categories include professional development and learning delivery. Each skill is ranked from 1-7 level of responsibility, where 1 is follow and 7 is set strategy, inspire, mobilise. For example, learning delivery skills range from level 2 to 5 with an increasing level of competence and responsibility required.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Available in 13 languages including English, German, French, Italian, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, French (Canada), Arabian, Chinese, Japanese and Russian.

TARGET GROUP(S): Sector: IT Professionals; Teachers/trainers

back to list



Data privacy notice | Contacts | © UNESCO-UNEVOC